Smith & Nephew Orthopaedic Travelling Fellowship


In the late 1970’s the SAOA discussed the need to recognise excellence amongst Orthopaedic registrars studying at South African Medical Universities. Under the strong influence of Prof Robbie Snowdowne, the notion of selecting the Country’s top registrars and offering a mini fellowship to visit other teaching institutions in the country was formalised.  It was agreed that selection would rotate amongst the Universities with the Head of Department selecting the Registrar of choice. Smith & Nephew agreed to sponsor the fellowship making it possible for fellows to significantly broaden their skills and knowledge.

The first fellow, Dr Daneel Heyns, was selected by Prof Roelie Grabe of Pretoria. The late Chris Terreblanche who played a leading role in establishing the annual Fellowship dinner was a recipient in 1982.

More than 80 members are now part of this select group of surgeons. While a few of our members have sadly passed away and some have emigrated, the Fellowship has grown from strength to strength and the highlight is the annual dinner where fellows reconnect and learn from each other during the educational session and case studies.

Undoubtedly this program has met all original expectations the SAOA tabled, and the prestige and quality of recipients has grown exponentially, with the fellowship producing many surgeons who have been extremely active in academic circles and profiled in private practice all over the world.  Fellows have also made substantial contributions at SAOA Exco level and a significant number have subsequently served as Presidents of the SAOA.

The S&N Travelling fellows, selected by the SA Orthopaedic Association and sponsored by Smith & Nephew (Pty) Ltd.

1981 Dl Heyns
1982 CJ Joubert
CP Terreblanch
1983 JH Crosier
HD Schrader
1984 J Naidoo
HAP Swan
1985 OA Badenhorst
PFRG De Muelenaere
1986 MP Paterson
JA Louw
1987 JF de Beer
SJ Matthews
MV  Ngcelwane
1988 AA  van Zyl (Bfn)
M de Graad
LA Ledwaba
1989 RK Fraser
DW Botes
HS Pieterse
1990 LT de Jager
FJ Labuschagne
MN Rasool
1991 JN de Vos
JC Coetzee
WE Williams
1992 DW Engela
AA Osman
1993 RA McLennan-Smith
PJ Botha
TLB le Roux
MD Bloomfield
1994 AA van Zyl (CT)
P Makan
HB Parbhoo
1995 GJ Greeff
MJ van der Westhuizen
HJS Colyn
1996 G Killian
W Lieberthal
WCN Rossouw
1997 GA Seyisi
MT Mariba
MA Kapnoudhis
1998 C Ackerman
JHJ Lategan
P Webster
1999 EJ D’Alton
RN Dunn
D Kodi
2000 A Skinner
AD Barrow
2001 R Yachad
S  Dix-Peek
P Thosago
2002 R Denkema
M Barrow
2003 AAM Cloete
TS Matshidze
2004 JP du Toit
MA Cvitanich
2005 P van Sittert
R Barrow
2006 F Birkholtz
2007 JH Sithebe
R von Bormann
2008 A Basson
P Ferrao
2009 R Finn
ND Naidoo
2010 M Radzilani
H Visser
2011 B Garrett
D vd Spuy
2012 FM Peters
W van Graan
2013 C Serfontein
L Bomela
2014 A Morule
L Maritz
2015 M Thiart
N Sikhauli
2016 JD Arndt
NF Dlamini
2017 M Roussot
S Mkhize
2018 S Manjra
M Potgieter
2019 V Singh
C Mecure