In the late 1970’s the SAOA discussed the need to recognise excellence amongst Orthopaedic registrars studying at South African Medical Universities. Under the strong influence of Prof Robbie Snowdowne, the notion of selecting the Country’s top registrars and offering a mini fellowship to visit other teaching institutions in the country was formalised. It was agreed that selection would rotate amongst the Universities with the Head of Department selecting the Registrar of choice. Smith & Nephew agreed to sponsor the fellowship making it possible for fellows to significantly broaden their skills and knowledge.

The first fellow, Dr Daneel Heyns, was selected by Prof Roelie Grabe of Pretoria. The late Chris Terreblanche who played a leading role in establishing the annual Fellowship dinner was a recipient in 1982.

More than 80 members are now part of this select group of surgeons. While a few of our members have sadly passed away and some have emigrated, the Fellowship has grown from strength to strength and the highlight is the annual dinner where fellows reconnect and learn from each other during the educational session and case studies.

Undoubtedly this program has met all original expectations the SAOA tabled, and the prestige and quality of recipients has grown exponentially, with the fellowship producing many surgeons who have been extremely active in academic circles and profiled in private practice all over the world. Fellows have also made substantial contributions at SAOA Exco level and a significant number have subsequently served as Presidents of the SAOA.

The S&N Travelling fellows, selected by the SA Orthopaedic Association and sponsored by Smith & Nephew (Pty) Ltd.

1981Dl Heyns
1982CJ Joubert
CP Terreblanch
1983JH Crosier
HD Schrader
1984J Naidoo
HAP Swan
1985OA Badenhorst
PFRG De Muelenaere
1986MP Paterson
JA Louw
1987JF de Beer
SJ Matthews
MVÿ Ngcelwane
1988AAÿ van Zyl (Bfn)
M de Graad
LA Ledwaba
1989RK Fraser
DW Botes
HS Pieterse
1990LT de Jager
FJ Labuschagne
MN Rasool
1991JN de Vos
JC Coetzee
WE Williams
1992DW Engela
AA Osman
1993RA McLennan-Smith
PJ Botha
TLB le Roux
MD Bloomfield
1994AA van Zyl (CT)
P Makan
HB Parbhoo
1995GJ Greeff
MJ van der Westhuizen
HJS Colyn
1996G Killian
W Lieberthal
WCN Rossouw
1997GA Seyisi
MT Mariba
MA Kapnoudhis
1998C Ackerman
JHJ Lategan
P Webster
1999EJ D?Alton
RN Dunn
D Kodi
2000A Skinner
AD Barrow
2001R Yachad
Sÿ Dix-Peek
P Thosago
2002R Denkema
M Barrow
2003AAM Cloete
TS Matshidze
2004JP du Toit
MA Cvitanich
2005P van Sittert
R Barrow
2006F Birkholtz
2007JH Sithebe
R von Bormann
2008A Basson
P Ferrao
2009R Finn
ND Naidoo
2010M Radzilani
H Visser
2011B Garrett
D vd Spuy
2012FM Peters
W van Graan
2013C Serfontein
L Bomela
2014A Morule
L Maritz
2015M Thiart
N Sikhauli
2016JD Arndt
NF Dlamini
2017M Roussot
S Mkhize
2018S Manjra
M Potgieter
2019V Singh
C Mecure